RSS Feed

An Addled Sense of Dominion In A Conundrum of Uninspired Leaves

Incongruity:Balance

As Hammers are to sunsets

Blasphemy:Honor

Is what Ravens are to Cotton Candy

 

What this all means, is beyond approaching,

Yet in the process of distinguishing fever from shade,

i’ve encountered a dance to which the steps ever change

 

THIEVERY

 

I am pulled inward by your magnetic ripcord

I am entrenched by your forthcoming intentions

and often find it breathtaking, that you, would think of me …

 

As I fade into the oblivion of trailing comets and graveyard prophets,

I notice your shadow shifting space, dissolving the tapestries that

labor diligently, shielding me from the midnight scowl’s promiscuous trance

 

And yet, even as your lures cast me hollow

I find it impossible not to pray to awake,

finding my key still permits your locks

to breathe–even when the breeze has

frayed clean the last fabric from the cloak I all too often wear…

 

All, as you…

Steal my dissertations, replacing them with illiterate etchings unto barren walls

Eradicate my visions, leaving me blind to those who may come after

Squelch my voice, rendering me mute to future claims

 

and therein you offer…

the violence from a pacifist…

the strength of the meek…

a texture only felt when numb…

a shape that has grown formless through the flailing geometry…

a cynic’s sense of acceptance…

 

And when directionless…the lost become my compass

And when love is abandoned…the heartbroken convinces me the virtues extolled within

 

Soon, memories are all that flicker

and flames burn cold in winter

While I find myself positioned before this mirror….watching as history alters the future’s face

 

Time:Time

As Raindrops are to the endless sea

 

 

As many of you are well aware of, I’ve been MIA this past week. I wish I had a proper reason, but I really don’t.  I’m afraid it’s simply been a case of BLOCK.  A weird sense of block, at that.  The ideas flow quickly, yet, when I grab a pen or my handy voice app, they immediately disappear, stealing the thoughts away.  On top of this, I’ve been exhausted, just completely exhausted.  Turns out I was sick, finished the last of the antibiotics today.  But, in any case, This piece I patched together of many of the one or two lines I had managed to write down, tweaked a bit to fit together and I’m hoping, that the simple act of getting something down, will spark the creativity, the imagination, the poetry in me, which, I’ve never truly had stripped away from me for this length of continuous time.  Ok.  Just wanted to fill you all in on the state of affairs.  Hopefully soon, things will be back to normal, and I’ll pick right back up with the Haiku’s, and other short form work that it certainly does seem like many of you enjoy reading as much as I had enjoyed composing.

About hobgoblin2011

I'm a poet and aspiring screenwriter/songwriter with a passion for film, art, photography, philosophy and heavy metal. I love reading, mainly non-fiction, comic books, graphic novels, myth and reference. Family always comes first for me. I'm a proud father to two wonderful pups and two curious cats. I'm also a glutton for punishment aka the life of being a diehard Buffalo Bills and Sabres fan.

3 responses »

  1. monocochlearmutineer

    You are being too humble, sir. This piece works really well for me – especially in the masterful way you utilise contrasts and opposites. There’s no ultimate resolution here, but there is certainly an awakening. Your metaphors are sublime as well…

    Reply
  2. I was wondering what happened to you. Sorry you were ill. Glad you’re okay.

    Re: blocked. Sounds like you were just have a liminal moment and now look what you produced here. Marvelous!

    Welcome back to the blogosphere. 🙂
    Jamie

    Reply
  3. Fascinating poetry, Fred … glad you’re feeling better 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

