RSS Feed

Yellow Cab Cutie

 

Pike me up, toll road’s down,

Free to handle, each strain of

Gravel to skip up and hit the carriage underneath

Clean so close to this broken stretch of ground does mean

Invisible and aligned

 

All and both the turns, a foundational approach

For the indecisive set, a line, a hoax, a holler and a mixed bag of magnitude…a combinatory…..stretch of paint….that only illustrates….the dimensions…of what is determined to be……. wretchedness

 

Never been careful to what the trap door lies, even after knowing the blueprint, even after hearing the hollow boot to slat, I forget and flip about in seconds flat….too much drinking on the job is never advisable…yet so many people choose to go against the grain…

 

Forget-me-not, soon will rise the morning sun, and quickly I relive the last eight that I’ve spent…I don’t work the nine to five, nor the two to ten, I’ve been called a vampire, yeah, a vampire… as the past twenty, it’s only the graveyard that I’ve sensed

 

Lowly peon, scrounging sap, broken loner, a perfect patsy for those who don’t want to work, yet the dispatcher often claims, I can’t be on the job, lest overtime I will demand

 

How they know me so little

 

Jersey hack, wild ride, Pay my fare and confess your sins

And when tomorrow’s born,

You’ll feel the cost yet know you’re home

Despite forgetting how and who got you there…

 

Such the life, such is the life….for a livery man and his getting older every day loving bride….in yellow, gussed up in yellow paint and wheels that ride

About hobgoblin2011

I'm a poet and aspiring screenwriter/songwriter with a passion for film, art, photography, philosophy and heavy metal. I love reading, mainly non-fiction, comic books, graphic novels, myth and reference. Family always comes first for me. I'm a proud father to two wonderful pups and two curious cats. I'm also a glutton for punishment aka the life of being a diehard Buffalo Bills and Sabres fan.

Leave a Reply

