RSS Feed

In Defense of Vultures (Revenge)

In defense of a vulture,
I stained me sweet,
as not to be a detriment
to the sincerities you keep

In defense of a vulture
A plague you must obey,
as not to lead astray
lest to the minions of carrion
administer you as prey

To cutthroat similes
rot we must…
unto the amphibole’s of
lethargy, displaced we’ll become
grown gnawed to larcenous ideals
when rationality is alive in seed

In defense of vultures
I beg of you now…
please admonish your misguidance
for such rancor soon breeds foul
In defense of vultures
I stained me sweet
as not to be a detriment
to the promulgating gluttony
our pride relinquishes posthumously

Revenge is but a bitter coin
that can be tossed into fabled fountains,
in an aim to gleam… the promises of wish

Revenge is but a bartered die
used to uncover what’s never been discovered,
to which, the new and dangerous are not yet judged, let alone unjustly tried

Revenge is but a cornered beast
burrowed deep within the abscess of one’s self
offering alternative resolutions, to problems born in pride

Revenge is but a bitter coin
that can be used to find mostly anything
even foundering a forgiveness, we never dreamed, we’d reach again

Revenge is but a vulture,
I…we…must try
…to defend

About hobgoblin2011

I'm a poet and aspiring screenwriter/songwriter with a passion for film, art, photography, philosophy and heavy metal. I love reading, mainly non-fiction, comic books, graphic novels, myth and reference. Family always comes first for me. I'm a proud father to two wonderful pups and two curious cats. I'm also a glutton for punishment aka the life of being a diehard Buffalo Bills and Sabres fan.

Leave a Reply

