RSS Feed

Inactivity Stirring Guilt

I’ve included two recordings for this piece. They are not continuations, but two very different recordings of the same poem, listed below). The first recording is a poetic reading, read from a point, position, of overriding guilt and sadness. The second version I sung. I did so using more of an upbeat, sing-song melody, trying to mask the guilt and sadness of the lines themselves with a contrasting vehicle for the poem’s words. If you listen to them both, please let me know what you think.

I see their eyes
I hear their cries
I see, I hear, I cower in fear
I see their eyes
I’ve seen inside
I hear the call
I’ve heard it all
The sighs that stir from broken drums
The hurt, the pain, the loneliness spun
In their eyes
In their eyes I see
Nothing worth repeating

I hear their eyes
I see their cries
In the mirror
Religion’s proved
In the heart
It’s tenet’s flow
But in my eyes, in my eyes
I only see shades of doubt

I’ve seen their cries and felt their sighs, I’ve bled their why’s and heard their eyes, calling for someone, anyone, to come and save them there, as they wither and writhe in stressful stares, inconceivable positions of despair, alone, to suffer such an unenviable state of fear

And such conversations I locked away
Praying they’ll never resurface to the light of day
And yet reopen they do, each night, each night at sleep
Where they control the tempo and intensities
That present and form, the nightmares that have become the
norm,

for which I weep, sobbing wet the pillow beneath my eyes, and shed forth a river of tears, a chalice I sob, and cry I do, for all of them, each and all,
with each sense of scream, they come alive, to remind, that deep inside I still can hear, I still can see and feel
all those moments, all those sounds, repressed so low, yet if I listen, their echoes can still be found…reminding me, that what I’ve seen

Are not the products of a dream…

About hobgoblin2011

I'm a poet and aspiring screenwriter/songwriter with a passion for film, art, photography, philosophy and heavy metal. I love reading, mainly non-fiction, comic books, graphic novels, myth and reference. Family always comes first for me. I'm a proud father to two wonderful pups and two curious cats. I'm also a glutton for punishment aka the life of being a diehard Buffalo Bills and Sabres fan.

Leave a Reply

