RSS Feed

A Stream Of Journaling

I woke up, still with sleepers half clinging to the moistened parts of the eye. As per usual, a series of stretches are performed, to help arouse the body as a whole but also to help give the day a fighting chance, for the bitterness of a romance scorned is very akin in metaphor to the manner in which herniated discs react the following morning.

Eventually I place my feet upon the carpet. Toes sink in, not as much as they used to, but still sink nonetheless. A few paces to the various corners of the room are routinely accomplished. Here I turn a few lights on, organize what I’m to wear, get the first dosage of my daily medicinal routine ready to go, then to open the door and exit the bedroom.

The first step is always the most difficult. Going from the warm and soft of the carpeting to the cold hardwood flooring that for, with the exception of a few strategically placed throw-rugs, dominant the rest of the homes flooring. I’ve been learning to walk again and hardwood flooring make the process a little more difficult than it normally is.

I read an article about the effect proper movement can play upon various bodily functions, namely, for what sparked my interest, the idea that by walking properly you reduce the stress upon other joints, align the spine, which can help create natural adjustments, and while there’s no concrete evidence connected walking properly and correcting damaged discs, it is said to help alleviate the pressure felt, thus making the pain ratio lessen in severity. But there was another side effect that particularly struck me as well, in that by walking in what is considered proper, you can, somehow, help the body in it’s war against obesity. It sounded strange to me as well, and the article did back its findings up with scientific data, but I don’t particularly like rehashing out the scientific jargon, they issue notes, so I figure if they’re going to cite a source, the findings, while manipulation is never fully removed as an option, are probably alright. And besides, this article didn’t seem to have a hidden agenda, as I didn’t come across any products for sale or services or anything of the sort, so I started implementing a commitment to relearning the way I walked. It goes like this, the heel makes first contact, then the sole and finally the toes, in which you spring with slightly bent knee and continue in identical fashion.

At first it was difficult correcting the many years of incorrect behavior, but I have to say I feel the difference in the lessening of fatigue incurred from walks that a few weeks ago would have led me bedridden for days. I checked in with my chiropractor on our weekly visits and ran this idea by him, where he agreed with the information presented in the article, going just a bit further, from a chiropractic point of view, how proper mechanics of movement can indeed assist the body in it’s managing back and/or joint issues.

I got a 16oz glass of water, took my pills, brewed a nice cup of blueberry coffee and left the house for a quick trip to the grocery store, which was overdue, as I’d been out of fruit for a few days and was yearning for nectarines, cherries and plums.

This piece was basically a throwaway starter exercise. I typically start my writing each day with either a stream of consciousness exercise or a word association game. Today it was the former and I got this idea that I’d write up whatever came to mind, but with the initial focus of trying to frame it like one would a journal entry. From there I thought I’d immediately open the recorder and go stream of consciousness as far as the recording go, and see how similar the writing exercise matched up with the recording. They were different, as I suspected they’d be, but I have to say that the essence of each pretty much align.

About hobgoblin2011

I'm a poet and aspiring screenwriter/songwriter with a passion for film, art, photography, philosophy and heavy metal. I love reading, mainly non-fiction, comic books, graphic novels, myth and reference. Family always comes first for me. I'm a proud father to two wonderful pups and two curious cats. I'm also a glutton for punishment aka the life of being a diehard Buffalo Bills and Sabres fan.

Leave a Reply

