RSS Feed

A Serenade For What Remains


If destiny had a whore
Eternity would be her name
If Fated dreams went unclaimed
Would remnants choose remain?

Ever unwinding, twisting
and wrapping, warping, awry
inside, endurance is the prize
but dementia is the bride of this
addled massacre we deem as serenade

I’ll be all right; I’ll be fine
The world will spin, despite, because
sound still stirs, plucks and whirs, coming on
albeit strong, in a seizure of verve

Élan, a bit muffled, obscuring nouns
a little blurrier than first curves that we found
where words of repercussion striate each and every verb

If logic joined this game of cards
It would be sure to play the odds
Like I, did, as I stared into her opened stance
Clothed in the moon, bathed by her dance
On that, the day way back when I first met chance,

I’ll be okay
I’ll get by
I’ll make do
I promise I’ll try
To stay and stand, to
Face the fear, to engage the fight,
To strive for what is right,
Staying the course and to never veer
Or go astray, even if I have no other choice but to obey

And I know, I understand, it’s not ideal, is not according to plan
But to act this way, sometimes we must, for
Often it’s the only hand that’s left to play,
Lest we forfeit hope and fade away

About hobgoblin2011

I'm a poet and aspiring screenwriter/songwriter with a passion for film, art, photography, philosophy and heavy metal. I love reading, mainly non-fiction, comic books, graphic novels, myth and reference. Family always comes first for me. I'm a proud father to two wonderful pups and two curious cats. I'm also a glutton for punishment aka the life of being a diehard Buffalo Bills and Sabres fan.

One response »

  1. Flowed really well for me and could hear the music playing in the background. Thanks for the read.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

