RSS Feed

Searching For Things Familiar

For a while now, I’d been meaning to utilize this neat little Latin to English/English to Latin dictionary I’d picked up a few months back.  But outside the quick insertion of a word or two, and beside those attempts at being cute, I never had the time and/or proper inspiration to see this project through.  While not perfect by any means, and while certainly it’ll need a bit of revision somewhere down the line, I’m pretty pleased with this piece as it stands right now.

I chose to enter this post in three sections, all in this individual post. So while it may look like one of the longest pieces you may have seen in a while, it’s really 3 different versions of the same poem, where:

Section I: ENGLISH with Recording

Section II:  ENGLISH, immediately followed by it’s LATIN Translation

Section III: LATIN with Recording (which had to be split into 2 parts, due to the length of the recording)

 

A few quick snippets before we start:

First, playing with language is such a fun experiment.  If you’ve never dabbled in it, please, give it a try, you’ll be surprised how engrossed you’ll become.

Second, while never having any traditional Latin training, the translation may be off, actually it probably is.  Yet, I definitely spent some time on getting it to the point where you see it now, and feel satisfied at present.

Third, I did my best pronouncing the Latin translation, but again, I’m even more confident, that I’ve probably butchered a few words along the way.  I wound up running through several recordings to get these recordings to where they remain right now, and while understanding mistakes exist, in regards to pronunciation, stress and pacing, which seem evident when I listened many times, I just wanted to pass the note around, letting you know, these readings are at a point where I couldn’t figure out any other ways to adhere my recording to how it all should sound.

Fourth, I’m fairly certain, while not currently actively studying, that I’ll pick up more of Latin as time goes on, and I’m sure, when this happens, I’ll revisit these recordings, catch some mistakes and run another revision at such time.

Fifth, I found it interesting as to how some bits of the translation changed, if I uncapitalized a word here or there, or either added or subtracted punctuation, where each of these things somehow alter the pronunciations’s I was able to come up with.

Sixth, my translations come from the Cassels Latin Dictionary, and in some cases, where I had supreme difficulty choosing the right word and/or words and phrases, I used an app I picked up from the app store.

Finally, to tie this last note to the first one again, I had a blast with this experiment.  Especially with doing the Latin recordings.  The fact I’m sure there are many flaws with the reading, it doesn’t dissipate the enjoyment I had making them, and I hope any apparent flaws don’t diminish any enjoyment you’ll hopefully find in listening.  Thanks.  Feedback for this piece would be wonderful.

 

ENGLISH ONLY:


 

 

 

Purple scepters spin in sequential harmony

Dancing, diadem to septet, tiara to throne

To each the beauties ever apparent

It’s now I see how blind I’ve been

Always searching in the distance for

What’s ever been close and near

 

Amongst the painted bark,

Behind the willow woods,

A well exists under the forest’s care

 

Centuries have long elapsed

Since it’s fluidity rushed vibrantly

Throughout the seekers skin

 

And here, I cut through embattled bark,

where aged brush reveal the wellspring’s mystery,

Deeply, shimmering aglow

 

Rippling still, rippling still,

Love fills this throat, as the embrace of a ghostly affection,

Begets my gullet full and deep

It was not long after this living memory elapsed,

When I saw you,

my dearest friend,

who’d forever been so close my side—

In times of both prosperity and blight,

 

And I wonder why these

Eyes never did reveal

the sparkling effect

you impress upon me now,

where every fabric of my existence,

is now, forever more, altering the definition,

 

And so I send away thy princesses

And potential brides to be—

From lands near and far,

For my queen, is, as she’s ever been,

Firmly attached, tightly to my

Trembling arms…

 

And in coda I now reflect,

Upon wise words one time spent in contemplation,

On and off the majesty of love’s realm,

where hearts oft know long times prior,

what eyes now clearly see, that which presently appears,

 

It’s the beauty in familiar glow

The gospels that were always there

Yet never known

 

Traveling back through space and void, it is a form of time,

The heart divides,

Drawing images that attention had needn’t ever smite,

For if the eyes had known what the heart does now, this scenery, would have never gained permit, to allow such feelings,

The facility to so ignorantly slip away from this…

 

But not to dwell upon past ignorance,

I dream of the enlightenment yet to come,

Living, in both our approaching twilights left to breathe

 

It is I, who rules the realm,

Yet it is she that forever governs me,

 

For all eternal blessings, we’re soon to forge,

creating a new reality, a life transformed,

composed entirely out of love,

where love’s embrace,

consumes us completely

 

ENGLISH, WITH LATIN TRANSLATION:

 

Purple scepters spin in sequential harmony

Dancing, diadem to septet, tiara to throne

To each the beauties ever apparent

It’s now I see how blind I’ve been

Always searching in the distance for

What’s ever been close and near

 

Purpura sceptra nent in sequentem Concordia

choris diadema ad septet, tiara ad sedes

ad singulis splendoribus semper apparet

Donec nunc quam caecus ego

semper scrutans in spatium

quid semper comminus et prope

 

Amongst the painted bark,

Behind the willow woods,

A well exists under the forest’s care

 

Inter picta cortice

post salices silvis

bene est sub saltus cura

 

Centuries have long elapsed

Since it’s fluidity rushed vibrantly

Throughout the seekers skin

 

Saeculis diu elapso

Cum scriptor fluiditatem irruit vibrantly

per petentibus cutis

 

And here, I cut through embattled bark,

where aged brush reveal the wellspring’s mystery,

Deeply, shimmering aglow

 

Et hic, ego interficiam per struxere cortice,

ubi senem penicillo revelare fons mysterium,

penitus, contremulus fervet

 

Rippling still, rippling still,

Love fills this throat, as the embrace of a ghostly affection,

Begets my gullet full and deep—

 

Undantia adhuc, undantia adhuc,

amor implet hoc guttur, ut amplexus a comprime affectus,

generat mea gula plena et penitus

 

It was not long after this living memory elapsed,

When I saw you,

my dearest friend,

who’d forever been so close my side—

In times of both prosperity and blight,

 

Non multo post haec elapso memoria,

vidi te,

carissime,

tam prope semper mecum quisquis res,

aliquam et urente

 

And I wonder why these

Eyes never did reveal

the sparkling effect

you impress upon me now,

where every fabric of my existence,

is now, forever more, altering the definition,

 

Et mirum quid

oculis numquam revelare

candenti effectus

vobis imprimere super me nunc,

ubi omnis fabricae meum esse,

est nunc, saecula, commutata in definitione,

 

And so I send away thy princesses

And potential brides to be—

From lands near and far,

For my queen, is, as she’s ever been,

Firmly attached, tightly to my

Trembling arms…

 

Potentiam tuam et reginae et sponsae non misi,

procul a terris

pro regina est ut eros semper

firmiter adnectitur,

viverra meam

tremor arma …

 

And in coda I now reflect,

Upon wise words one time spent in contemplation,

On and off the majesty of love’s realm,

where hearts oft know long times prior,

what eyes now clearly that which presently now appears before,

 

Et in coda nunc cogita,

Super sapiens verbis tempus in contemplatione,

et off maiestatis amoris regni,

ubi corda saepe scire temporibus prior,

quod oculos clare quod statim apparet ante,

 

It’s the beauty in familiar glow

The gospels that were always there

Yet never known

 

Suus pulchritudinem in nota meridiem

Evangelia quod semper ibi

tamen numquam

 

Traveling back through space and void, it is a form of time,

The heart divides,

Drawing images that attention had needn’t ever smite,

For if the eyes had known what the heart does now, this scenery, would have never gained permit, to allow such feelings,

The facility to so ignorantly slip away from this…

 

Rursus iter per spatium vacuum est forma temporis,

cor dividit,

Trahens imagines operam esset necesse non semper percute,

enim si oculis quid cor facit, hoc scaenarum,

numquam lucratus permiserit, ad patitur talis affectus,

facilitate ad ita ignorans labi de hoc …

 

 

But not to dwell upon past ignorance,

I dream of the enlightenment yet to come,

Living, in both our approaching twilights left to breathe

 

Sed non habitare super praeteritum ignorantia,

ego somnium illuminatio tamen ad venit,

Vivus, in tam accedere twilights reliquit ad spirant

 

It is I, who rules the realm,

Yet it is she that forever governs me,

 

Ego, qui regit regnum

sempiternum est quae regit me tamen

 

 

For all eternal blessings, we’re soon to forge,

creating a new reality, a life transformed,

composed entirely out of love,

where love’s embrace,

consumes us completely

 

Omnium aeternorum bonorum, iam sumus mox ad fora,

eget efficientibus nova re, vita mutatur,

omnino ex amorem

quo amat complex,

consumit totaliter nos

 

LATIN ONLY:

 

Purpura sceptra nent in sequentem Concordia

choris diadema ad septet, tiara ad sedes

ad singulis splendoribus semper apparet

Donec nunc quam caecus ego

semper scrutans in spatium

quid semper comminus et prope

 

Inter picta cortice

post salices silvis

bene est sub saltus cura

 

Saeculis diu elapso

Cum scriptor fluiditatem irruit vibrantly

per petentibus cutis

 

Et hic, ego interficiam per struxere cortice,

ubi senem penicillo revelare fons mysterium,

penitus, contremulus fervet

 

Undantia adhuc, undantia adhuc,

amor implet hoc guttur, ut amplexus a comprime affectus,

generat mea gula plena et penitus

 

Non multo post haec elapso memoria,

vidi te,

carissime,

tam prope semper mecum quisquis res,

aliquam et urente

 

Et mirum quid

oculis numquam revelare

candenti effectus

vobis imprimere super me nunc,

ubi omnis fabricae meum esse,

est nunc, saecula, commutata in definitione,

 

Potentiam tuam et reginae et sponsae non misi,

procul a terris

pro regina est ut eros semper

firmiter adnectitur,

viverra meam

tremor arma …

 

Et in coda nunc cogita,

Super sapiens verbis tempus in contemplatione,

et off maiestatis amoris regni,

ubi corda saepe scire temporibus prior,

quod oculos clare quod statim apparet ante,

 

Suus pulchritudinem in nota meridiem

Evangelia quod semper ibi

tamen numquam

 

Rursus iter per spatium vacuum est forma temporis,

cor dividit,

Trahens imagines operam esset necesse non semper percute,

enim si oculis quid cor facit, hoc scaenarum,

numquam lucratus permiserit, ad patitur talis affectus,

facilitate ad ita ignorans labi de hoc …

 

Sed non habitare super praeteritum ignorantia,

ego somnium illuminatio tamen ad venit,

Vivus, in tam accedere twilights reliquit ad spirant

 

 

Ego, qui regit regnum

sempiternum est quae regit me tamen

 

Omnium aeternorum bonorum, iam sumus mox ad fora,

eget efficientibus nova re, vita mutatur,

omnino ex amorem

quo amat complex,

consumit totaliter nos

 

 

 

 

About hobgoblin2011

I'm a poet and aspiring screenwriter/songwriter with a passion for film, art, photography, philosophy and heavy metal. I love reading, mainly non-fiction, comic books, graphic novels, myth and reference. Family always comes first for me. I'm a proud father to two wonderful pups and two curious cats. I'm also a glutton for punishment aka the life of being a diehard Buffalo Bills and Sabres fan.

Leave a Reply

