RSS Feed

Off The Wall

 

I bounced you off the wall

You shot me up

So high I couldn’t feel the fall

 

I flagged you down

you pushed away

But what ‘cha expect

From a couple of strays

 

I gave you everything I had

And when it was gone, you left me reeling bad

 

I know it must sound so cruel,

So harsh to hear when you’ve only ever played the fool

But still, sometimes it’s all that’s left to do,

to take a swing for the yard or shoot for the sun

 

I bounced you off the wall again

You shot me up,

With what was no more than a sad case of pretend

I turned on the lights

You simply whispered, good night

And then I knew

It was clear

there was no use,

holding back the tears

 

two short words, were all I could hear

 

two short words was all I heard

were all I could

and ever would

good night, good bye,

from your lips to my eyes

good night, good bye

it was just as I feared

good bye, good night, good bye

my dear,

good night, goodbye, good bye, good night,

my dear, dear darling, my dear, my dear

good night I say, good bye I go

Goodnight my dear, Goodbye I must

Goodbye my dear, you must trust

That this is the last good night we’ll ever know

And this time,

Will be, the last Goodbye ever sent,

That this, my dear,

I fear, that this good night we’ll be,

the last good night

we’ll ever spend,

again

 

About hobgoblin2011

I'm a poet and aspiring screenwriter/songwriter with a passion for film, art, photography, philosophy and heavy metal. I love reading, mainly non-fiction, comic books, graphic novels, myth and reference. Family always comes first for me. I'm a proud father to two wonderful pups and two curious cats. I'm also a glutton for punishment aka the life of being a diehard Buffalo Bills and Sabres fan.

Leave a Reply

