RSS Feed

The Shortcut Home

Amidst
dirt-caked
alleyways
a devil
sits

Atop the crates of sin
it beckons me
forth
and
it’s vermilion scar
pulsates in
blood-curdling
intervals

I stutter feet
that want no
part of such
directions
yet find
the evil
closing
toward

Each patch
reveals the
vermin
sacrificed
to build it’s
form

and I can feel
his lust for
my form,

Fear, my only
entitlement

Sweat, pooling
in vortex fields

To look to the distancing
alley from whence I came
an allegiance of
foolish forgoers
of life

With options slimming thin
I would have but one
option, if any hope
would prevail

I closed my eyes
deep in spell
Recalling emotions,
sense memory
to use, to feign
confidence

Inches to touch
it’s deadly fang
when the rudderless
ship froze in path
as the sky
lit amber
and the wings
of a violent
dove admonished
this wickedness
from me there

From this day forth
my premise has changed
my eyes now see what
they never chose to
see
if this were a test
I certainly would have failed,
if not for
the teacher’s last second change
of plan, allowing
open books
to which, my prayers
summoned the answer found

About hobgoblin2011

I'm a poet and aspiring screenwriter/songwriter with a passion for film, art, photography, philosophy and heavy metal. I love reading, mainly non-fiction, comic books, graphic novels, myth and reference. Family always comes first for me. I'm a proud father to two wonderful pups and two curious cats. I'm also a glutton for punishment aka the life of being a diehard Buffalo Bills and Sabres fan.

Leave a Reply

