RSS Feed

Stepping Through Today

Every day’s a stepping stone
Every day’s each it’s own
Every day’s a stepping stone
Can’t get to tomorrow
without stepping through today

Foot by foot
Toe by toe
the legs will
follow, where
the feet choose
to go

Inch by inch
yard by yard
a square’s composed of four
a circle of one
but no matter your side
you’re bound to find

A place to think
A space to land
An hourglass is nothing
without it’s every grain
of sinking sand

Every day’s a stepping stone
Every day’s each it’s own
Every day’s a stepping stone
Can’t get to tomorrow
without stepping through today

***originally written as a poem when I was a lot younger, I thought I’d change a few lines around to make it more lyrical. Posted it yesterday, and thought, why not sing it. I chose to do it in a country vein, what came out, to me, has a bit of a backyard campfire type country parody, thought about trying to refine it a bit more, the singing part, and perhaps smooth out the circle of one, which I still may down the road sometime, but chose to keep it as it came out for now, because, well, take a listen, but I definitely had some fun doing it.

About hobgoblin2011

I'm a poet and aspiring screenwriter/songwriter with a passion for film, art, photography, philosophy and heavy metal. I love reading, mainly non-fiction, comic books, graphic novels, myth and reference. Family always comes first for me. I'm a proud father to two wonderful pups and two curious cats. I'm also a glutton for punishment aka the life of being a diehard Buffalo Bills and Sabres fan.

Leave a Reply

